the yelling reaction

Just another WordPress.com weblog

a brief rant

with 2 comments

So even though I know I’ll make a beeline for the store as soon as I pull my hundreds of bags off the luggage thing at the airport in NYC, I’m going to go ahead and say now while I’m safely in Paris that I think Opening Ceremony tries too hard. Describing itself as “a multifaceted environment comprised of retail spaces, showroom, and gallery that establishes a new international creative forum in downtown Manhattan,” it kind of makes me want to pull a rug out from under a platform-Mary-Jane-sporting Chloe Sevigny and roll her up in it, even if it did tie the room together. Getting Sofia Coppola to direct a short film, starring Jason Schwartzman and Kirsten Dunst decked out in your clothing and imitating Nouvelle Vague movies seems a little trop – like someone wrote down a list of Hip Things in his Moleskine and is checking them off with one of those clothes-slide-off-the-naked-woman-while-you-write pens. (Worse, I think the Opening Ceremony short may have inspired the uber-annoying version done by Steven Alan to promote their summer collection. So many rolling eyes.)

Furthermore, as much as I buy into it late at night sitting in my room on the internet, I also think it’s kind of bullshit for stores to have blogs. Case in point Brooklyn Industries, which is lame anyway, but which gets lamer when they suggest that we all read their blog and find out about Gwen, the manager of their Williamsburg store, whose inspirations are apparently Neil Young, Hunter S. Thompson and Ken Kesey, and who is currently drinking acai juice. Opening Ceremony’s blog is like a big ad disguised as street fashion and art news. It’s like the fashion marketing equivalent of the Ovaltine scene in A Christmas Story. I think the whole thing is at once gaudy and condescending – let’s just understand each other, you put clothes on the racks, I’ll spend money I shouldn’t on them, and we’ll both go home happy. Please, people at OC and other stores for the Young and Hip, don’t feel a pressure to occupy every stratum of my life. When I want a blog on art and fashion I’ll go here or here. When I want to see a movie I’ll just go here, it’s fine. When I want to look at impossibly goodlooking people wearing terrific clothes and probably being photographed just outside my window, I’ll go here or here. For music, these people are holding it down.

And just to prove how over it I am, I’ll still tell anyone that will listen about that time I met Chloe Sevigny in the bathroom at Film Forum.

Written by bellaheureuse

June 16, 2010 at 1:03 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. LOL!!!! Cloe, take THAT!!

    PAPS

    June 16, 2010 at 6:08 am

  2. I swear I saw her on the bus this morning. She is everywhere.

    em

    June 16, 2010 at 8:15 pm


Leave a Reply

