the yelling reaction

Just another WordPress.com weblog

6-8pm in Paris: a promenade

with one comment

The other day I decided to get out of the house and go do something that would remind me what an incredible place I live in. I took the C to the Musee d’Orsay and walked across the Seine to the Tuileries, where I spent a few hours sitting, reading this adorable book Spotted in France (about a dalmatian and an American ex-pat traveling to the south of France on a Vespa on their way to the dog breeder’s) that my good friend G. gave me in a care package from the US, propping my feet up in the classic green metal chairs, and taking photographs. After this I walked west through the gardens, through Place de la Concorde, and down to Pont Alexander III, where I nestled myself into a shell decorating one of the ends of the bridge, had  a cigarette, and watched the sun go down. And to make the day even better, I happened upon a fantastic big brown partially-angora sweater that someone had taken off in the heat and left piled underneath a lamppost on the ground in the Tuileries. I picked it up, looked to see if anyone was glaring or bearing down upon me menacingly, and then trotted off with it.

Click the photo above to see the rest of my photos from the day. I’ve also decided that frequently one song is not enough for these blog posts, so I’ve made another mix – things I think sound like 6-8:00 p.m. A little shoegaze, a little funk, a little retro, a little music that makes me feel like I live in LA in the 90s… and a weed anthem for good measure. Hope you enjoy. Tracks below.

1. Simon & Garfunkel – Anji
2. Beach House – Norway
3. Fitzgerald Patrik – Animal Mentality
4. Dam Funk – Visions
5. Twista ft. Lil Boosie – Fire
6. CFCF – Monolith
7. Fleetwood Mac – Dreams
8. Lindstrom & Solale – High & Low
9. Cocteau Twins – Heaven or Las Vegas
10. Kurt Vile – He’s Alright

Written by bellaheureuse

May 22, 2010 at 5:09 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. new layout! hot dog.

    liz rose

    June 7, 2010 at 5:17 am


Leave a Reply

