the yelling reaction

Just another WordPress.com weblog

went.

leave a comment »

View from the RER C | Coming into Paris, Sunday, March 14, 2010

Vivian Girls – When I’m Gone

I’ve been to Spain and back again. It was wonderful and full of fruit and markets and paella and sweet pretty friends that I’ve missed so much. Pictures here.

Bakerby observed in a recent post, alongside some evocative photos of Paris, that she always thinks of my Current City in the colors “jade green, ivory white, and dusty beige.” It’s funny she should say that because I myself so often imagine places as a smear of color, of lights and darks, and Valencia is orange, nightsky purple, and a blue like raw silk curtains.

I tried to get to Valencia on Thursday night, but my flight was cancelled, so back I came to Paris and headed to Shakespeare & Co. to satisfy a burning desire for more books to read. I bought Flatland, The Great Chain of Being, and Logics of Disintegration, and then trotted over to Place St. Michel for some duck and potatoes, a sundae, and some typical flirtations as integral to the service of any self-respecting French waiter as a smart black suit and white apron. It is always strange, and nice, to come back to Paris and feel a sense of comfort at being home.

Written by bellaheureuse

March 15, 2010 at 10:44 pm

Leave a Reply

