the yelling reaction

Just another WordPress.com weblog

today i remembered summer is coming

with one comment


Bob Dylan – Don’t Think Twice, It’s All Right

This picture reminds me of my grandparents’ house in Black Mountain, North Carolina, and what I want my bedside table/life to look like when I am old. My grandfather used to play harmonica on the porch at night when I was little and visited them there, the same porch where my parents got married, and we would sit and listen to the cicadas in summertime, in between squares of orange light from the windows and screen door, and watch moths flutter around the porchlights. Our house was the only thing glowing in miles and miles of dark trees, and I loved feeling so warm and solitary.

The next day when I woke up I’d have breakfast and then take the dog and go play in the creek in my underwear. Those were the days.

Written by bellaheureuse

February 23, 2010 at 9:45 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. this post made me SO nostalgic for home, and for my youth: the house across the street where my dad did not play harmonica but where we used to sit on the swing porch and drink from Mason jars among other activities, and life was good.

    luff ya.

    liz rose

    February 24, 2010 at 6:05 pm


Leave a Reply

