the yelling reaction

Just another WordPress.com weblog

ave maria

with 2 comments

Tonight I met C. and E. at Ave Maria for drinks at the very crowded bar and then finally dinner. We got three dishes to share, each served fast and in deep, round terra cotta dishes. The restaurant, always packed, noisy and dimly-lit, does a mix of Creole, Latin American, Asian and Caribbean food, called things like “Amélie Poulet” and “Woman on Top” (which we ordered out of sheer responsibility to our sex). It was delicious and filling, with spicy lentils, basmati rice, tender chicken with crispy cinnamony skin, all mixed in with slices of fresh orange and pineapple. For dessert we split an overwhelming chocolate tart with a shot of Calvados – a combination we all agreed should have been the dish to claim the name “Woman on Top,” no matter how good the lentils were.

While we were there they played two of my favorite songs:


Getz & Gilberto – So Danço Samba (I Only Dance Samba)


Buena Vista Social Club – Candela

Tomorrow is S.’s birthday and I’m taking her to brunch at Le Loir dans la Théière in the Marais. I was there before doing a Marais tour for Soundwalk, since the café is part of the tour, and I stood awkwardly in the middle of the restaurant between a pair of tables with my headphones in, listening to Isild Le Besco tell me what a chic place I was in while I felt increasingly out-of-place and conspicuous the way one does when is tall and standing up and surrounded by tablesful of people sitting down. So tomorrow I will go back and actually eat (i.e. gorge on their homemade desserts, which are oh-so-connu, I’ve heard). It’s known for its bad service and beautiful people – perfect.

Written by bellaheureuse

January 24, 2010 at 12:10 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Your blog is always a great source for little restaurants of wonder, and your pictures make me hungry.

    I also liked the Ubu post, but for some reason only now have I been allowed to post a comment. I did think though that the link connecting Ubu with unpublishable works should be clarified.

    PAPS

    January 24, 2010 at 12:38 am

  2. Beautiful.

    I wrote a small piece of free verse on eating a piece of flourless chocolate torte at Filo. From Paradise, how-could-anyone-think-life-is-aught-but-bliss, to the Other Place within 40 minutes. Sharing the slice is a very good idea.

    M

    January 24, 2010 at 1:31 am


Leave a Reply

