the yelling reaction

Just another WordPress.com weblog

christmas week doings

leave a comment »

Oeuf, it’s been a long time since I was here last – I’ve been busy with lots of lovely pre-Christmas things and haven’t had time to write. My dear friend L. was here from Saturday until yesterday, when she headed off on her train to Brussels. We had a jolly time trotting around Paris togezzer, and ate so well. We went out to dinner with V. at Bistro du Peintre on Avenue Ledru-Rollin, where I had onion soup and Japanese Nikka whisky, which comes in this pleasing little rectangular bottle.

Later L. and I had fantastic cheeseburgers at Café Charlot, with their trademark tin of fries wrapped in Russian newspaper, and scoped out Parisian hipsters dipping their frites in delicious French mayonnaise.

I started my internship at Soundwalk this week, which I’m loving. I found out the company will be working on a film that’s screening at the Pompidou in the spring, documenting the collaboration that arose between the Ulysses Syndrome, a sound project using audio recorded over a summer in the Mediterranean, and the work of an artist inspired by the audio. I’m excited both to be involved in the publicity for the event and to find out more about the concept behind the production.

I’m staying in an apartment on Rue St. André des Arts with my dad until January 5. It’s gorgeous and right near Notre Dame/St. Michel, so the area is bustling and very festive. We did the big Christmas shopping thing at Galleries Lafayette, where I bought some black velvet (!) lace-up oxfords from Alexandre Herchcovitch and the world’s best simple striped, double-sided cotton shirt from Petit Bateau.

This morning we went grocery shopping for the food we’ll make for our Christmas feastings: huge King crab legs for tonight, endives, lots of pastries for the morning, and lamb filets for tomorrow. I think I’ll go to the store later and get some cream so I can make egg nog; not such a thing in France.

It’s Christmas Eve! How glorious. I’ll leave you with these morceaux – some charming, some funny, some horrifying:

My kid brother – I Can’t Put My Arms Down

Charlie Brown Christmas – Skating

Jack Webb & the Postal Singers – Mail Early

Reverend Glen Armstrong – Even Squeaky Fromme Loves Christmas

Portsmouth Sinfonia – Sugar Plum Fairy

Written by bellaheureuse

December 24, 2009 at 6:58 pm

Leave a Reply

