the yelling reaction

Just another WordPress.com weblog

ghosts

with 4 comments

This morning I woke up with the feeling that during my sleep I had been bombarded by a reel of unwelcome memories; I felt less that I had been taking part in my dreams and more that I had been invaded by them. I woke up crying, which always spooks me a little because it represents a dream’s unpredictable and eerie ability to transgress the boundary between one’s mental world and one’s physical one. Whenever I have such aggressive dreams, I wake up feeling absolutely vulnerable, and wondering how it is that they got in.

There is a saying that ghosts can move from one world to the next through the infinite corridor that forms when two mirrors reflect each other. This has always fascinated me, in the way that I am often fascinated by things I find both beautiful and frightening. Such a corridor, occurring when objects existing solidly in the real world – two mirrors – play off of each other to create an illusion of depth, is in itself an amalgamation of the real and the phantom, and thus its composition nicely augurs its product.

Interestingly, a passage created by two mirrors thus reflecting each other represents an endlessly self-accruing fantasy world built upon certain newels of actuality, and as such seems to me to describe the structure of many of our dreams. If invasive dreams use the same means of travel as do ghosts, it is clear to me why, when waking up crying, I feel that both my mental and physical worlds have been accessed by something foreign and transgressive.

Memory Cassette – Last One Awake (CFCF Version)

Written by bellaheureuse

December 7, 2009 at 6:21 pm

Posted in findings, mirrors, music

Tagged with , ,

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. rachel saw a ghost here in paris. did she tell you about it? it’s quite creepy.

    L.

    December 8, 2009 at 12:52 am

  2. she did tell me – it was sitting at the base of her bed, she says. eek

    bellaheureuse

    December 8, 2009 at 12:29 pm

  3. so much Borges in this post. i have now decided you and he need to be BFFs. if you haven’t guessed that yet from my non-stop comments about him.

    Liz Lo.

    December 11, 2009 at 7:06 pm

  4. […] and the abstract, could be connected in a physical way, giving mass to our imaginings (much like a passage of mirrors that allows for mingling of the spiritual and physical worlds). Later when, upon the instruction of […]


Leave a Reply

