the yelling reaction

Just another WordPress.com weblog

cleo’s mood and mine

with 2 comments

I was talking with S. and C. today about how depressing it is that it could for all intents and purposes be midnight outside at 4pm at this time of year, and how waking up with the same grey light every day I’m never sure if it’s today or yesterday or tomorrow, and how the weather is making us all feel like we’re in ruts and we don’t know where our lives are going, etc. etc. I’ve tried to remedy this with window shopping at Chloe, trying really hard not to touch Audrey Hepburn’s clothes at Sotheby’s, tea and baths, Christmas music (ok yes actually I started with this the day after Halloween), New Yorker fiction podcasts, drawing, reading Borges poetry, and trying to jump out of bed in the morning (or, yes, early afternoon) and into my slippers and yell the motto of my high school friend Emily’s summer camp, “It’s a great day and I feel terrific!!!!”, but all of this has had limited effect on my grey mood. Also my lips are chapped all the time. I hate it.

But here are some of the things that have managed to cheer me up.

1) This video from my adorable friend Chris, who provides me with funk on the reg

2) These images

3) This song. Danced home from the metro listening to it last night.

The Very Best – Yalira

4) Going to C.’s tomorrow at noon to meet up with some of the girls for yummy lunch, wine, and a sauna.

Off to sleep now – it’s bedtime here and the moon is gorgeous. To all a good night.

Written by bellaheureuse

December 4, 2009 at 12:02 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. BORGES POETRY! excellent. here’s the one my Dad quoted on my senior page:

    http://oldenglishnyc.blogspot.com/2006/08/on-poem-written-in-copy-of-beowulf.html

    (see bottom of post).

    Liz Lo.

    December 4, 2009 at 6:26 pm

  2. between Borges and Beowulf our dads are covered.

    bellaheureuse

    December 9, 2009 at 10:27 am


Leave a Reply

