the yelling reaction

Just another WordPress.com weblog

la semaine de fooding

with 2 comments

This post is all about things I’d like to eat.

First, I am suddenly craving horseradish like Rapunzel’s mama craved lettuce. If there were a witch next door who grew horseradish in her garden, I’d make someone crawl over her stone wall and get it for me, even if it cost me my firstborn child. The only comparable craving I can remember occurred at Smith, when I had a fortnight-long milk craving like nothing before or since. I filled my refrigerator with bottles of whole milk from State St. Fruit Store. I spent the last 25 minutes of each class planning my route to the next class in a way that would allow me to pass by a dining hall and guzzle cups of milk. I snuck coffee cups full of it during my shifts behind the bar at the cafe. It was legend— wait for it– and I hope you’re not lactose-intolerant because the next part of this word is–DAIRY.

Next, as if I didn’t gorge enough at Thanksgiving dinner, today kicks off the annual week of gluttonous revelry, La Semaine de Fooding. It’s organized by a bunch of gastronomically-inclined Parisian hipsters, who each year come up with a theme and hold lots of events during the week. Some are open to anyone with tickets, and some are totes exclus, invite-only. The theme this year is Les Incorrects, which by my interpretation means things that might be politically incorrect (ou mêmes déviantes) to eat but are oh-so-delicious (think horsemeat carpaccio). Several of the events are held at a Parisian pool, La Piscine Molitor, and while the week’s menus are not revealed, the titles of the events are as follows, all with hipsterry, gastronomy-themed names:

Monday : Elle met du buerre partout… (She puts butter everywhere)

Tuesday: Les mouches, la veuve, et son amant (The flies, the widow, and her lover)

Wednesday: Le baiser du chef masqué (The kiss of the masked chef)

Thursday: Pétales du cheval (Horse petals)

Friday: Le cuisinier clandestin (The clandestine cook)

Saturday: Soir de fête (A big party)

If I manage to get tickets to any of these events, and bring someone along who owns a camera, I will photograph as many scandalous foods as I can and post them here.

Written by bellaheureuse

November 30, 2009 at 8:58 pm

Posted in food, Paris

Tagged with

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. french hipsters + french food = L. IS JEAL.

    Liz Lo.

    November 30, 2009 at 10:29 pm

  2. please let it be me please please

    L.

    December 1, 2009 at 10:26 pm


Leave a Reply

