the yelling reaction

Just another WordPress.com weblog

sara, mary, ondine

with 8 comments

The combination of the carol Greensleeves, which I listened to this morning, and the sound of this Debussy piece, which I’ve been working on, have reminded me of how much I love these two movies.

le_jardin_secret_the_secret_garden_

littleprincess1

I am thrilled about this piece. I think my practicing is driving the paraplegic downstairs nuts, because it often consists of me playing one grouping of highly dissonant and jarring notes after another, over and over, but I’ve never been happier. The whole piece is one of contrasts: striking between dissonances and consonances, and thus causing each to highlight the other; between the linear action of the scales and the vertical building of chords, which is such a pleasure to feel translated from the written score to the muscles of the hand; of aural contrasts created by the frequent changing of time signatures. This is perhaps one of my favorite things about playing Debussy – the way that such mathematical regularity on the page can produce such a whimsical, interpretive sound for the ear. To me the whole piece sounds like the movement of different animals, and like running a finger along a string of crystals on a wire.

Here ’tis: Debussy Preludes Book 2, L 123 – Ondine

3007972433_9ceaeb2883_o

Related: basslines and plotlines, chaos in James Ensor and jazz

Written by bellaheureuse

November 16, 2009 at 2:02 pm

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. And I had a dream about Sara in her garret the other night. It was a tough one. Now I will listen to the piece and have heart’s ease. (Did you know that is the name of a flowering plant?)

    Maman

    November 16, 2009 at 6:20 pm

  2. I felt that right in my solar plexus. And it made me hold my breath a couple of times. Does that happen to you with this one?

    Maman

    November 16, 2009 at 7:05 pm

  3. fave movie EVER

    L.

    November 17, 2009 at 1:39 am

  4. ps you need to learn how to link things.

    L.

    November 17, 2009 at 1:42 am

  5. This post is why I just linked to your blog.

    Dara

    November 25, 2009 at 1:44 am

  6. […] Related: basslines and plotlines, Debussy’s use of meter […]


Leave a Reply

